Malawi Judiciary

The Judiciary is one of the three arms of Government of Malawi. The other two branches are the Executive and Legislature. The Judiciary has authority over all issues of legal nature as such it has powers to:

  • Review any law and any action or decision of the Government for conformity with the Constitution

  • To hear and determine civil cases between individuals and other individuals or groups of persons or
    Institutions i.e. labour disputes, land matters, divorce.

  • To hear and determine civil cases between individuals or group of persons and the State
    e.g. unfair dismissal, unlawful imprisonment

  • To hear and determine criminal cases e.g. theft, defilement, murder.


Malawi Law Commission

The Law Commission is an independent institution established under Chapter XII of the Constitution with powers to review and make recommendations relating to the repeal and amendment of laws for conformity with the Constitution  and applicable international law and such other powers and functions as are conferred on it by the Constitution and  any other Act of Parliament. Matters relating to the functional operation of the Law Commission are provided for
under the enabling Law Commission Act (Cap. 3:09) enacted in 1998

Malawi Parliament

The National Assembly has the following functions and powers as provided by the Constitution:.

  • Receive, amend, accept or reject bills (both Government and Private bills.

  • Initiate Private Members bills on the motion of any member and amend, accept or reject all Private Members bills.

  • Debate and vote on motions in relation to any matter including motions to indict and convict the President or
    Vice - President Mace

  • Confirm certain public appointments made by the Executive.

  • Take all actions incidental to, and necessary for the proper exercise of its functions.

  • Exercise such other functions and powers as are conferred on it by the constitution


Malawi Human Rights Commission

The Malawi Human Rights Commission (MHRC) is established under section 129 of the Constitution of the Republic of Malawi MHRC is competent to investigate violations of human rights on its own motion or upon complaints received from  any person, class of person or body. (Section 12 of HRC Act). The duties, functions and responsibilities of MHRC are  outlined in sections 13 and 14 of HRC Act.

Malawi Police Service

The Malawi Police Service is a government department under Ministry of Internal Affairs and Public Security. Historically the Service started as an organized Nyasaland Police Force on 5th October, 1921 It had its headquarters in  Zomba, situated at the present Police College. Police stations were also established at Zomba, Blantyre, Mulanje and  Mangochi The statement of common purpose and values emphasize the objects of the Malawi Police Service. It also  clarifies how these objects shall be fulfilled by members of the Malawi Police Service.

Malawi Prisons Services

The Malawi Prison Service is a department under the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Public Security. Its operations are  provided for under the Laws of Malawi Chapter 9.02 and the Constitution of the Republic of Malawi Section 17:163.  It is regulated by Prisons Act of 1966.

It mandated to house, detain and rehabilitate persons committed to prisons 17:163 and Laws of Malawi Chap 9:02  Control of Prisons and Management of such Institutions and Incidental matters.